Questions tagged [catan-cities-and-knights]

An expansion for Catan that lets players improve their cities, create new commodities, and use their newly empowered knights to conquer the island of Catan.

An expansion for that lets players improve their cities, create new commodities, and use their newly empowered knights to conquer the island of Catan.

51 questions
9
votes
3 answers

Can you play a Progress Card even when you get nothing from it?

If I have a Progress Card for which initial preconditions do not hold, will I still be able to use it in order to discard it back to the pile? The goal is to prevent a spy from stealing it. A few examples: I am leading in victory points but I want…
Moutabreath
  • 181
  • 7
4
votes
1 answer

Which city is destroyed if there are 2+ to choose from?

The barbarians attack. The player with the smallest army controls 2 cities, neither of which is a metropolis. Can they choose which one gets destroyed, or is this chosen at random?
user3490
  • 517
  • 3
  • 13
4
votes
1 answer

Can a Catan Volcano destroy a knight?

When playing with both the Cities & Knights expansion and the Volcano variant, can a volcano eruption destroy a player's knight? (Knights occupy intersections, so theoretically the lava could flow down upon them.)
Bruce R
  • 268
  • 2
  • 7
3
votes
1 answer

Barbarian attack In Catan - Cities and Knights

4 of us were playing Catan - Cities and Knights, the barbarians attacked and the situation was as follows: Player 1 has 2 cities and 1 knight. Player 2 and 3 each have 1 city and 1 knight. Player 4 has 0 cities and 0 knights. Who loses a city?
Eshli
  • 31
  • 1
3
votes
1 answer

Catan - Cities & Knights - Barbarian Attack

Player A have 2 cities and 1 active knight point, player B have 2 cities and 2 active knight points and player C have no city and no active knight. What will happen when the barbarians attack? No one will loose city as player C is the least…
Bhadresh
  • 33
  • 2
3
votes
1 answer

Who decides which metropolis to steal?

Say the red player has two metropolises (having upgraded both politics and trade to level 4). Now the blue player upgrades their politics to level 5 and steals a metropolis from red. Who decides which of red's two metropolises will be given to…
TheAmigo
  • 143
  • 5
3
votes
1 answer

In Catan Cities & Knights, can you use a Knight action before you roll the dice?

In base Catan, the rules allow you to play a Knight card before you roll the dice. Obviously, there are no Development Cards in Cities and Knights, and instead there are physical knight tokens. The rule book doesn't seem to specifically address if…
Bruce R
  • 268
  • 2
  • 7
2
votes
1 answer

Using the Deserter card in Catan Cities & Knights after realizing you can't place a knight instead

Please help me to determine if the following move is legal: The active player uses the Deserter card and chooses another's player knight to steal. After revealing the card and asking to steal the knight, the active player realizes that he can't…
Asaf
  • 21
  • 1
  • 2
2
votes
1 answer

Resource Monopoly when player only has one of the named resource

Does the opponent have to give you the selected resource ONLY if they have 2, or do they have to give the selected resource EVEN if they have only 1?
Vedang
  • 21
  • 1
2
votes
1 answer

White token in Catan cities and knights

Catan cities and knights has four colored circular tokens. There is a yellow, blue, and green to indicate when someone has acquired the metropolis for trade, politics and science respectively. There are also a white and grey one. My question is…
Link
  • 169
  • 1
  • 9
1
vote
2 answers

Can I steal from a city with a city wall?

So I was playing the Cities & Knights scenario in the Catan app. On my turn, I rolled a seven. I moved the robber on the mountains hex where both of my opponents have a settlement and a city adjacent to it, as shown in the photo. After I did that,…
user23272
1
vote
1 answer

Can I build a strong knight with Deserter if the victim removes a mighty knight?

I already have all of my basic and mighty knights on the board. I played the Deserter Politics Progress Card to one of my opponents, and they chose to remove a mighty knight. It only says in the Almanac, If he chooses a knight that you do not have…
user23272
0
votes
1 answer

I have game Catan 3061 and want to buy an extension, are extensions 3066 and 3078 the same?

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/344333090392539/?ref=search&referral_code=marketplace_search&referral_story_type=post&tracking=browse_serp%3Add6711d2-6b1a-4fe2-bd24-1828b21608e8 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07B8WZJGX/ref=ox_sc_saved_i…
Andonie
  • 1
  • 1
0
votes
0 answers

Settlers of Catan Cities and Knights: Can Longest Road Leave the Game?

Background In C&K, it is possible for your road length to decrease. If you have the longest road, and it gets shortened (by the Diplomat progress card or by an opponent's knight), what happens to the Longest Road card? The base game rules say the…
nullromo
  • 163
  • 5
0
votes
1 answer

Catan Cities and Knights: Aqueduct and The Robber

If you have the Aqueduct, do you take a resource card if you didn't receive any production due to the fact the robber was on your only producing hex for that turn.
user23337
  • 1
  • 2
1
2