12

A Cunning Rules Lawyer pointed out that, while the rules for Sorcerers say:

Once per turn per opponent, your Sorcerers can conquer a Region by substituting one of your opponent's Active tokens with one of your own taken from the storage tray.

It isn't 100% clear if, when you're playing a four player game, you can convert four regions of the same opponent, or if "once per opponent" means you have to target a different opponent each time.

Does once per turn per opponent mean that you have to target a different opponent each time, or just that you have as many conversions as opponents?

ire_and_curses
  • 18,170
  • 8
  • 76
  • 99
deworde
  • 1,995
  • 15
  • 31

2 Answers2

9

Looks like this is clarified by Antoine from Days of Wonder in this thread. You may only use it once against a given opponent in a turn.

bwarner
  • 8,378
  • 26
  • 43
0

Of course you can only use it against each opponent once on any given turn.

They may as well try to argue that there are 3 turns left in the game, and 3 opponents, so they can use it 9 times this turn against a single opponent. That has as much grammatical sense as what they're arguing, and is clearly not what the grammatical structure means.

AndyT
  • 1,258
  • 7
  • 19
  • No, that would be a fundamental difference in power level. The difference between "Power bounded by adjacent opponents" vs "Power bounded by number of opponents" is a lot more subtle. – deworde Sep 13 '19 at 09:22