12

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play Giant Growth on it, make it 4/4 until end of turn, and destroy my opponent's attacking creature when damage is dealt?

user1873
  • 39,929
  • 8
  • 81
  • 189
Gordon Gustafson
  • 21,248
  • 40
  • 120
  • 233

1 Answers1

15

Yes, this works just fine. Once a creature is declared as a blocker, it remains a blocker until it is specifically removed from combat (e.g. Regeneration) or the battlefield (e.g. Cloudshift).

One thing to note: once a creature is blocked, it remains blocked even if the blocker is removed before damage is dealt. This works great against lifelinkers, since they deal no damage to a creature that is no longer there. It works less well on tramplers, since they just deal all their damage to the player instead.

Hyppy
  • 2,000
  • 1
  • 14
  • 20
  • 6
    I am not 100% sure on the latest rules of magic but, do tapped blockers deal damage? I know there was a point in the game when they did not. The question specifically asks this – Andrey Jun 14 '12 at 13:26
  • 8
    Tapping a creature that is blocking does not remove it from combat or prevent any damage. This was settled in the 6th Edition revision, around 1999 I believe. – Hyppy Jun 14 '12 at 14:23
  • 3
    In previous editions the Llanowar Elf in this situation would have not dealt damage (but would have survived). Would have become effectively a 0/4 creature. – Yaztromo Jun 21 '12 at 20:24