7

I've been playing checkers for quite some time. Recently a question arose which puzzled both of us:

Can white keep going in the same turn?

Can white move along the red line, i.e. eat the first black checker, reach the end, gain promotion, and then keep moving and eat two more checkers, or does promotion end the turn, with white remaining at the end?

I suppose the variant I play matches closest with English draughts, just with white starting.

1 Answers1

14

Admittedly without citation, the Wikipedia page for English draughts states:

If a man moves into the kings row or if it jumps into the kings row, the current move terminates; the piece is crowned as a king but cannot jump back out as in a multi-jump until the next move.

The same "turn ends" rule can be found in e.g. the WCDF Rules available from the American Checker Federation.

Philip Kendall
  • 10,648
  • 1
  • 35
  • 56