0

I think I know the answer to the problem but I have some doubts and I need confirmation or an explanation to which I can point when this happens again.

I have the following scenario in Dominion Nocturne.

The following to 2 cards are in the game:

  • Pixie
    • +1 Card / +1 Action / Discard the top Boon. You may trash this to receive that Boon twice.
    • pixie
  • Necromancer
    • Play a face up, non-Duration Action card from the trash, leaving it there and turning it face down for the turn.
    • necromancer

in a previous turn, one of the players played and trashed Pixie. So now there is a pixie in the trash.

In my turn, I play Necromancer which allows me to play a card from the trash. I choose to play "Pixie".
Now the question. Can I trash the trashed pixie to receive the next boon twice? or I just get the "1 card 1 action" and I discard the top boon?

Based on what Adama wrote as an answer on a different question ....

The golden rule in Dominion is follow the card instructions as much as possible. [...] However, you may not be able to execute some conditional effects, e.g., trash the card

I conclude that I cannot trash an already trashed card, but there is a chance I got this wrong. So...which is it? can I or I cannot trash a trashed card?

Marius
  • 607
  • 4
  • 14
  • I might post an answer later, but Dominion Strategy Wiki addresses this exact combo here. Since Pixie checks that it was trashed, it wasn’t so you wont get the boon. – Matthew Jensen Jun 07 '22 at 08:38
  • I read that sentence but I did not make much sense. The wording on it is not the "happiest" specially for a non native English speaker (or at least for me). – Marius Jun 07 '22 at 11:20

2 Answers2

2

From http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Stop-Moving_rule#Official_Rules:

  • If a card isn't where the effect would expect it to be, or has moved away from there and then back, it can't move the card.

    • Played cards expect to be in play; they can't move themselves if they aren't.

Because the Pixie is not in play, it cannot trash itself (and you cannot get the Boon).

m90
  • 1,276
  • 3
  • 11
1

The definition of trashing is to put a card into the Trash pile. Necromancer states: leaving it there. That means, you can't trash the card since it is never yours/ in your hand.

Zibelas
  • 1,609
  • 5
  • 13