3

Do all tiles played in one move need to be adjacent to each other? Example - there is a Y on the board, can a player place the letter E on both sides to make the word EYE ?

doppelgreener
  • 24,520
  • 15
  • 96
  • 170
  • Related (but not duplicate) question: https://boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/54110/was-it-ever-the-case-that-tiles-had-to-be-placed-contiguously – IMSoP Feb 02 '21 at 15:46

1 Answers1

8

No, they need only be in a single line.

For example, your EYE is allowed.

The official Scrabble rules has this legitimate example for playing FARM across a previous play of HORN:

Turn 1: "HORN". Turn 2: Playing F,A, and M to make "FARM" across the R in "HORN"

L. Scott Johnson
  • 11,004
  • 1
  • 19
  • 47
  • 1
    They also need to form a single word. You can't play I and O under the p and y of play in a single turn for example. – Jontia Aug 15 '20 at 22:01