In the duplicate bridge game yesterday, I was the declarer and the contract was 3D. My LHO led a H and the RHO won the trick. She led back a H and RHO ruffed with D5. The were 3 hearts in dummy an I said 'small'. My partner, a sweet old lady, played D6 instead of a small H. Nobody noticed this and the LHO led a club which I won. At that point I noticed the mistake, and called the director. What should be the ruling?
Asked
Active
Viewed 43 times
1
-
1Asked and answered already here and discussed in additional detail here – Forget I was ever here Sep 19 '19 at 13:53
-
@Forget The linked answers assume or specify rubber bridge, and cite the laws of Contract bridge, not the laws of Duplicate bridge. The answer is essentially the same, but the law numbers and perhaps wording are different. – David Siegel Oct 04 '19 at 18:22
-
@DavidSiegel: Please note that the ACBL Rules Commission for both Rubber Bridge Laws and Duplicate Bridge are the same individuals, and that the ToC for both clearly shows that all the Laws numbers are the same in both, and the Preface to the Rubber Bridge Laws states: "The two codes are nearly identical, so far as the nature of their respective games makes it possible." – Forget I was ever here Oct 04 '19 at 18:30
-
1@Forget, then i think I am out of date, or possibly had different editions. I think the numbering used to be slightly different. – David Siegel Oct 04 '19 at 18:40
-
@DavidSiegel: That is likely correct. I believe the reconciliation of the two code occurred over the past 20 years or so. – Forget I was ever here Oct 04 '19 at 20:25