I just bought the "Dominion Empires" expansion (German edition) and have a question about the debt mechanics.
According to the rules, when I buy a card with a certain debt value, I need to take the corresponding number of debt markers. The rules then state, that I can repay my debts at any time, including "right away".
How do I repay my debts "right away" after taking the debt markers? Since I had to take the debt markers as part of my buying phase, I can no longer play cards from my hand.
So as far as I understand the repayment of debts "right away" would need to be done with money cards I already played but which I did not use to buy something (so to say the "change left over" from my buy).
Is that assumption correct?