6

The first time I played Bohnanza and according to the Wikipedia summary, there is a rule that allows purchasing a third field.

However, I can't find any reference to this in the rules of the game I have, which is version 5.0 (2016).

Is it the case that this rule was ommited, and what is the reasoning?

dwjohnston
  • 3,485
  • 3
  • 21
  • 53

1 Answers1

6

Yes, the rules were updated sometime around 2011.

There is a discussion about the rules change at boardgamegeek here.

It seems it was done because purchasing a third field was almost always a mistake; so he option added no real strategic value.

GendoIkari
  • 74,922
  • 4
  • 167
  • 293