6

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound?

I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn't have the face to flip to, and in this case I would assume duplicate would just be exiled forever if it tried right?

doppelgreener
  • 24,520
  • 15
  • 96
  • 170
Anti Her0
  • 193
  • 1
  • 11

1 Answers1

8

You are correct about the outcome, but it is a different set of rules that deals with what happens here.

In the case of a Jace token, it can’t transform because tokens cannot exist outside of the battlefield, and can’t ever come back to the battlefield after leaving. With a non-token copy, we have this rule:

711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

So the Duplicate will remain in exile.

GendoIkari
  • 74,922
  • 4
  • 167
  • 293
  • 2
    What if the copied card is in fact a flip card? For example, we are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my delver of secrets, copying Nicol Bolas, The Ravanger. Then I pay the cost on Bolas(Previously a delver) to flip into Bolas Planeswalker? Not sure if this is a different question or not - so I'll comment for now. – Christopher Jul 02 '18 at 20:00
  • 1
    @Christopher That sounds like a separate (and good) question to me. – Kamil Drakari Jul 02 '18 at 20:15
  • 3
    I feel like you would end up putting Insectile Aberration into play, but please do ask a new question because I'm not sure! – GendoIkari Jul 02 '18 at 21:46