8

Let's say I have Blood Bairn and 3, 1/1 token creatures. An opponent attacks me with a 6/6 creature. If I use Blood Bairn's ability and sack all 3, 1/1 creatures and then block with Blood Bairn, after combat, the opponent creature should die and Blood Bairn survives. My question is this: at the end of his turn as Blood Bairn returns to a 2/2 creature, does it die because it took 6 damage from the previous combat?

Legion413
  • 93
  • 3

1 Answers1

10

Your Blood Bairn will survive.

This is because "Until end of turn" buffs and Damage are removed at the same time during the Cleanup-step.

514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.

Malco
  • 7,662
  • 1
  • 28
  • 60
  • Would this be a different outcome in a multiplayer match if my turn was not the next turn after the above combat? – Legion413 Jun 18 '18 at 18:54
  • @Legion413 Nope, Clean-up doesn't really care about who's turn it is now or next. All marked damage will be removed and all "until end of turn" effects will end, regardless of who owns/controls them. – Malco Jun 18 '18 at 18:57
  • Awesome. Thanks for the help with my question. I love this community! – Legion413 Jun 18 '18 at 18:58
  • @Legion413 No problem, good first question. I recommend checking out the rules I linked for some more context and to better understand how cleanup works. – Malco Jun 18 '18 at 19:00
  • @Legion413 Also if you're satisfied with the answer, there's a check mark near the voting of the answer that allows you to accept it. In case you didn't know. – joedragons Jun 19 '18 at 15:55