11

Imagine a situation which is highly improbable in practice but still possible theoretically. A novice player in Stratego, when making his/her initial setup, has put all his/her six bombs in the front row. No bombs behind any of the two lakes, however. So, in other words: two adjacent bombs are on the left flank, two bombs on the right flank and two in the center.

I had been playing wonderful game of Stratego for a long time, but I am so afraid of the above mentioned setup I never dared to try it. Still, I wonder what the game rules say about it. Is this an immediate loss?

Toon Krijthe
  • 11,742
  • 6
  • 55
  • 66
Alexander
  • 1,403
  • 1
  • 15
  • 23

1 Answers1

24

If you can't move, you lose the game.

Here is an excerpt from the rules:

If all of your movable pieces have been removed and you cannot move or attack on a turn, you must give up and declare your opponent a winner.

You have zero movable pieces and they are all removed so it is a loss.

Zenon
  • 103
  • 2
Toon Krijthe
  • 11,742
  • 6
  • 55
  • 66
  • 1
    There's one exception: if the opponent also has no moveable pieces, the game is a draw. In tournament games, if your last moveable piece has been captured and you therefore cannot move anymore, you can call the referee to check whether your opponent still has a moveable piece left. – TemplateRex Mar 22 '19 at 07:10