An example:
O
O?
There is a triple letter tile to the right of the bottom O, indicated with a ?.
If I place an X on it, making the words OX (vertical) and OX (horizontal), do I score 50 points (scoring the tile twice) or 34 (scoring it once)?
An example:
O
O?
There is a triple letter tile to the right of the bottom O, indicated with a ?.
If I place an X on it, making the words OX (vertical) and OX (horizontal), do I score 50 points (scoring the tile twice) or 34 (scoring it once)?
Yes, you score it twice as long as the double/triple letter/word tile was covered up by your current play.
From the rules:
When two or more words are formed in the same play, each is scored. The common letter is counted (with full premium value, if any) for each word. (See Turns 3, 4 and 5 in the Scoring Examples