4

Lets say someone is blocking an Eldrazi with annihilator. Can they sacrifice a creature they blocked with to count as one of the things sacrifice with annihilator?

Blake Runnoe
  • 154
  • 5
The Man
  • 3,672
  • 9
  • 34
  • 69
  • 2
    I rolled back the edit made by the author because it totally changed the question being asked. Clarification is good, but editing to ask a different question is usually not. If you have a new question, use the Ask Question button. Unfortunately, the rollback also means that the duplicate closure no longer makes any sense. The question is still a duplicate of Can you claim a Double Sacrifice Bonus (in my opinion). I flagged for moderator attention so that hopefully this can be sorted out. – Rainbolt Feb 02 '17 at 15:04
  • Also, this is a good question (even though it's been asked before). I hope you don't delete it again! – Rainbolt Feb 02 '17 at 15:08
  • Nominated for reopening. I don't think it's a duplicate of double sacrifice bonus either, because there's question about blocking with the creature and then sacrificing it to annihilator, which as the answer points out isn't possible. – GendoIkari Feb 02 '17 at 15:13
  • I removed the second question because we only want one question per question, and the second question is already answered here: http://boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/4168/if-a-blocking-creature-leaves-the-battlefield-is-the-attacker-still-blocked-or?noredirect=1&lq=1 – diego Feb 02 '17 at 15:20
  • @diego As I re-read the second question, I'm not convinced it's the same as what you linked. – corsiKa Feb 02 '17 at 17:38
  • @corsiKa 5 other people closed it as a dupe of that one, and regardless it should be asked on its own, not as a part of this one. – diego Feb 02 '17 at 18:04
  • @diego Sorry, they were mistaken, and so are you. It is not a "second question" but rather an attempt to rephrase the first question. It doesn't make sense to people who understand the rules because both phrasings of the question are asked on a faulty premise. This is why it looks like a different question. But it isn't a different question. – corsiKa Feb 02 '17 at 18:38

1 Answers1

14

Annihilator happens before blocks. When the attacking player declares attackers, the Annihilator trigger goes on the stack. The defending player has to resolve it first. Then the phase can move to the Declare Blockers step. If you still have a creature at that point, you can block.

JonTheMon
  • 11,103
  • 1
  • 34
  • 61
  • okay, let me rewrite the question then. – The Man Feb 02 '17 at 04:53
  • 4
    @ShadowZ. If you want to ask a different question (including if that different question is what you originally intended), we invite you to ask a new question instead in this case. – doppelgreener Feb 02 '17 at 21:58