Specifically, does a player draw a card when Harvester of Souls dies?
Asked
Active
Viewed 899 times
1
-
1For the abilities that don't say "another creature" see http://boardgames.stackexchange.com/q/18269/409 – Cascabel Sep 25 '16 at 17:50
1 Answers
4
No, Harvester of Souls does not trigger its own death trigger
Read the card carefully, it says
Whenever another nontoken creature dies, you may draw a card.
It specifically doesn't count itself. For other creatures, it depends on the exact wording of that card and cannot be stated generally.
Hackworth
- 51,002
- 2
- 133
- 213
-
Oh duh... but I'm curious now. If "another" was changed to "any" would a player still draw a card? – the_prole Sep 24 '16 at 19:59
-
2Yes, of course. Although the wording would be "whenever a nontoken creatures dies..." – Hackworth Sep 24 '16 at 20:16
-
Why of course? Is it just a no brainer or some kind of rule? If a triggering event occurs at the same time the trigger disappears from the battle field, how can a trigger be triggered? Mind = blown – the_prole Sep 25 '16 at 07:45
-
-
If a triggering event occurs at the same time the trigger disappears from the battle field, how can a trigger be triggered? – the_prole Sep 25 '16 at 18:40
-
1@the_prole Creatures see themselves enter or leave the battlefield (as well as anything else that comes and goes at the same time). This is necessary for many simple effects to work. For example, Filigree Familiar. If it didn't see itself enter, its first ability wouldn't work. If it didn't see itself leave, its second wouldn't. Because they want simple "when this dies, do X" effects to work, they make the rules work for this. – Samthere Sep 26 '16 at 09:02