I have an Awaken deck and I want to use Ruins of Oran-Rief. If I awaken a land that I placed on the battlefield earlier on the same turn, does it count as a legal target?
-
Possible duplicate of What is "summoning sickness" and how does it affect my creatures? – GendoIkari May 29 '16 at 13:21
-
It's not completely clear what you are asking, but I believe the linked question will have what you need. – GendoIkari May 29 '16 at 13:21
-
1I've given this some editing. The original first sentence was a red herring for understanding the question (there's no "enters the battlefield" trigger that's relevant here), and I've just put the intent up front and rephrased. – doppelgreener May 29 '16 at 13:48
1 Answers
Yes, you can use Ruins of Oran-Rief on that Awakened land - as long as, like you're describing, you played that land in the same turn.
The ability in question is this one, I presume:
{T}: Put a +1/+1 counter on target colorless creature that entered the battlefield this turn.
After your land's awakened, it's a colorless creature (as well as a land). That colorless creature did also enter the battlefield this turn. So, yes, at this point it meets all the prerequisites for targeting with this ability: it's a colorless creature that entered the battlefield this turn.
This is confirmed in a ruling on Ruins of Oran-Rief's gatherer page:
1/22/2016 - The target of the last ability didn’t necessarily have to be a colorless creature as it entered the battlefield, provided it entered the battlefield during that turn. However, it does have to be a colorless creature to be a legal target of the ability.
- 24,520
- 15
- 96
- 170
-
1
-
Would the land have to have been played the same turn as it got awakened though? I.e.: does a land "re-enter" the battlefield as a creature when you awaken it? (I thought it didn't, as transforms and other kind of things also don't count as "entering the battlefield") – Laurens Swart Jun 03 '16 at 09:10
-
@Laurens The question is about Awakening a land that did enter the battlefield in the same turn - but I'll edit to make that clear. Good thing to cover. :) – doppelgreener Jun 03 '16 at 11:01