1

I have Thornwood Falls and Simic Guildgate.

Am I allowed to run four of each of these cards in one deck?

I cannot find a ruling on this, maybe my google-fu is a bit off though...

Cascabel
  • 26,893
  • 3
  • 86
  • 133
spoon_man
  • 63
  • 5
  • As explained at the linked duplicate, all that matters is the name of the card, not the effect. (Also, Simic Guildgate and Thornwood Falls definitely aren't the same. The former is a gate, and the latter gains you life.) – Cascabel Dec 27 '15 at 03:18
  • @Jefromi Firstly thank you for answering my question! But I'm confused, the oracle text specifies that both of them, when tapped, add either a land or forest mana to my pool? – spoon_man Dec 27 '15 at 03:45
  • 2
    They both add blue or green mana (not "island" or "forest" mana - there is no such thing), yes. That one ability is the same. But the overall card is certainly not the same - the oracle text for both includes more than just that ability. It doesn't matter for your question (different name is all that matters for decks) but they're absolutely not identical cards even if you ignore the name. – Cascabel Dec 27 '15 at 03:47
  • @Jefromi oh geez I'm sorry, I don't know how I missed that. And yeah I guess I have a bad habit of calling them forest not green. Thank you for clearing up any confusion! – spoon_man Dec 27 '15 at 03:50
  • there are exceptions when you can run multiple cards in one deck, for example Shadowborn Apostle – Rumplin Dec 29 '15 at 21:05

0 Answers0