15

I was playing a game earlier and my opponent had a Drana, Liberator of Malakir that was a 4/3 and wanted to use a sorcery to fight Kozilek's Channeler that was a 4/4.

We were wondering if the Channeler would die first because of First Strike? Or would it not be counted as it wasn't combat?

diego
  • 20,138
  • 2
  • 54
  • 95
RyuAkamatsu
  • 607
  • 1
  • 6
  • 16

1 Answers1

20

First Strike does not apply because it isn't combat.

701.10d The damage dealt when a creature fights isn’t combat damage.

702.7a First strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step.

diego
  • 20,138
  • 2
  • 54
  • 95