5

Playing exploding kittens and the game is unclear about the effect of nope cards mid attack. If a player has already drawn one of their attack and it's a nope, can they play it? What happens?

Joe W
  • 14,098
  • 2
  • 46
  • 71
Chris Pfohl
  • 153
  • 1
  • 5

1 Answers1

9

While not explicity stated in the rules, my understanding is that Nope reacts to a card (or pair, or triple) just played, in which case once you've drawn the Attack has already resolved and you can't "Nope" it.

ConMan
  • 11,418
  • 34
  • 57
  • Awesome. This sounds accurate. – Chris Pfohl Aug 12 '15 at 11:21
  • more nuanced follow up for @ConMan, what is your take on when a nope card can be played to stop the 'steal a card' from a player move. Like if im playing advanced version and a player plays 3 of the same cards and says I want your difuse card, I can nope it, but what if the player plays 2 of the same cards, reaches out to steal a card, and has their fingers near where my difuse card is. can i nope then? what about once they have their fingers on my difuse card but havent pulled it. can i nope then? – n00b Dec 31 '19 at 18:22
  • nevermind just read the rules it states you can play a nope card "You can play a NOPE CARD at any time before an action has begun" so if a player has already reached out to take a card, their reaching out is the 'begining of the action' – n00b Dec 31 '19 at 18:26