5

If I'm in Tokyo, and a player outside of Tokyo has Acid Attack, they will do one damage to me on their turn (even without rolling a claw). But will that damage from Acid Attack allow me to leave Tokyo (forcing the other play into Tokyo)?

Acid Attack reads

Deal 1 extra damage each turn (even if you don't otherwise attack).

ikegami
  • 47,712
  • 3
  • 83
  • 167
KatieK
  • 1,753
  • 4
  • 15
  • 36

1 Answers1

7

In general, damage from cards are not considered attacks. For Acid Attack specifically, a search of the net shows the unanimous result that Acid Attack is not considered an attack. Since it's not an attack, you do not have the option of ceding.

ikegami
  • 47,712
  • 3
  • 83
  • 167
  • The sites I skimmed had a lot of discussion before they came to a conclusion. Has there been ruling at a tournament or errata from the publisher? – KatieK Jan 22 '15 at 20:09
  • 1
    Like I said, it's well known that damage from cards are not attacks. I did not find any official post that contradicts that for this card, meaning the only official rules I could find says it's not an attack. And every single post I've seen agrees. – ikegami Jan 22 '15 at 20:28
  • Maybe a link to some of these unanimous posts? – BlueRaja - Danny Pflughoeft Jan 22 '15 at 22:41
  • Can't right now but simply searched for King of Tokyo Acid Attack – ikegami Jan 22 '15 at 23:08