-1

Blood Feud lets two creatures fight each other. Is it similar to normal combat?

As I understand it, after a combat you use up your power and toughness. If there are 3/4 and 2/2, and they combat each other, the first one uses 2 powers to kill the other and has remaining 1 power. Its toughness is used up to be 2.

Does the same thing happen and the effect remains till the end of the turn after Blood Feud?

June Kim
  • 287
  • 1
  • 4
  • 8

1 Answers1

5

This is not a correct understanding of either combat or fighting.

"Fight" is a special keyword that simply means "the 2 chosen creatures deal damage to the other equal to their power." Neither power nor toughness is ever "used up." If a 2/4 creature fights another 2/4 creature, both will still be a 2/4 creature after that. The only difference will be that they will both be a 2/4 creature with 2 damage on them.

In combat, power and toughness are also not "used up". The attacking and blocking creature will deal damage to the other equal to its power.

GendoIkari
  • 74,922
  • 4
  • 167
  • 293
  • 1
    The specific rule about fighting is here: http://mtgsalvation.gamepedia.com/Fight – murgatroid99 Aug 24 '14 at 03:36
  • then does the damage the creature get from a fight transfered to the normal combat in the same turn? – June Kim Aug 24 '14 at 04:09
  • 3
    @JuneKim Yes; you need to go open the Basic Rules and re-read about how combat works and how damage works because you seem like you've misunderstood a lot. – doppelgreener Aug 24 '14 at 04:17
  • 3
    @JuneKim It doesn't matter whether the damage comes from combat, or fighting, or a spell like Shock. All damage is cumulative, and is set back to 0 at the end of each turn. – GendoIkari Aug 24 '14 at 04:39