4

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check:

I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like (LIFO):

  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

My opponent then casts Disperse on my crusader:

  • Disperse targeting crusader
  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

That's the final play, so after the stack resolves the creatures I should have are a 1/1 red soldier with haste (token) and a Nyxborn Rollicker. Is that correct?

Matt Ellen
  • 776
  • 2
  • 7
  • 20
  • 2
    Abilities on the stack exist independently of their source. If information about its source is required and the source no longer exists, use last known information (LKI). – ikegami Aug 19 '14 at 11:10

1 Answers1

5

Yes. Abilities still resolve if the creature that created them is gone*, or cards like Torch Fiend would be a little bit useless. This is because of the following rule:

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. [...]

So in this case: your Akroan Crusader gets targeted by a spell, and puts a triggered ability on the stack. Even if the Crusader goes away, the ability still resolves. Then your Nyxborn Rollicker enters the battlefield as a creature instead, since its target is gone.

* Other stuff can make it fail to resolve, such as if the ability has targets and all its targets are now illegal - see rule 608.2b. But the originating creature dying won't do anything to prevent the ability from resolving.

doppelgreener
  • 24,520
  • 15
  • 96
  • 170