4

So normally in tournaments you're restricted to a max of four identical cards per deck but can you, with wishes, get, into your hand, a fifth Force of Will, or a second Yawgmoth's Will or something?

neubert
  • 2,108
  • 4
  • 23
  • 45

1 Answers1

12

In tournaments "outside the game" as stated on the wishes only consists of your sideboard. The maximum of 4 of one card rule extends to your sideboard. So your deck + sideboard can only have 4 of one card, so NO you can't have a 5th card this way in tournaments.

Ivo
  • 2,805
  • 21
  • 28
  • The errata said that wishes pull from your sideboard but I didn't know the maximum of four of one card rule extended to it. Thanks! – neubert Jan 06 '14 at 08:03
  • 4
    @neubert, There's no such errata. There is such a rule, though. Certain cards refer to “a (card or cards) you own from outside the game.” In tournament play, a card “you own from outside the game" is a card in that player’s sideboard --Tournament Rules – ikegami Jan 06 '14 at 14:40
  • 1
    And the deck construction rules of every official offline formats allowing a sideboard includes the following: With the exception of basic land cards, a player’s combined deck and sideboard may not contain more than four of any individual card, counted by its English card title equivalent. – ikegami Jan 06 '14 at 14:43
  • In a casual setting, where the wishes extend to your entire card collection, can you get a 5th copy of a card that way? – GendoIkari Jan 06 '14 at 14:45
  • 1
    @GendoIkari Yes you can. The 4 card rule applies only to the construction of your deck. If somehow during gameplay you get a fifth card there is no rule preventing that. – Ivo Jan 06 '14 at 15:32
  • @ikegami. I mispoke. It's in the Rulings section of http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=34400 . A ruling as of 10/1/2009 – neubert Jan 06 '14 at 15:49
  • 1
    @neubert, Those rulings aren't always correct or up to date. My reference, the actual rules, is much stronger. – ikegami Jan 06 '14 at 15:51
  • The document that mentions that: https://wpn.wizards.com/sites/wpn/files/attachements/mtg_mtr_18may18_en_0.pdf – Ciro Santilli OurBigBook.com Jun 16 '18 at 04:50